Regions in Uganda

Uganda is divided into 135 districts, which are further grouped into four administrative regions. However, it is not divided into provinces like some other countries. The administrative regions of Uganda are:

  1. Central Region: This region includes the capital city, Kampala, which also serves as the national administrative and commercial center. Other major towns in the Central Region include Entebbe, Mukono, and Mpigi. The region is known for its economic importance and urban development.
  2. Eastern Region: The Eastern Region of Uganda encompasses districts such as Mbale, Soroti, Jinja, and Tororo. It is known for its diverse landscape, including the foothills of Mount Elgon, the source of the Nile River, and the scenic Sipi Falls. The region is also significant for agriculture, trade, and tourism.
  3. Northern Region: The Northern Region includes districts such as Gulu, Arua, Lira, and Kitgum. It is known for its cultural diversity, with various ethnic groups such as the Acholi, Langi, and Alur. The region has faced challenges in the past due to conflicts and displacement but is now experiencing growth and development.
  4. Western Region: The Western Region of Uganda comprises districts such as Fort Portal, Kabale, Mbarara, and Kasese. It is characterized by its mountainous terrain, including the Rwenzori Mountains (Mountains of the Moon) and numerous national parks such as Queen Elizabeth National Park and Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, famous for mountain gorilla trekking.

These regions serve as administrative divisions for governance and planning purposes in Uganda. Each region has its own unique characteristics, cultural heritage, and attractions for visitors to explore.